Staff and Board


Executive Director, Charity M. Counts

china-shop-background-cc

Charity discovered her passion for museum work while finishing her undergraduate degree at Ball State University, following an exhibit project she and 14 other students developed, designed, and produced to tour across the state of Indiana called Finding Indiana. She landed her first museum gig at the local art and history museum – Minnetrista – serving as collections assistant.

Prior to leading AMM, Charity was the associate vice president of exhibits at the Children’s Museum of Indianapolis where she led numerous exhibition projects, such as Take Me There: China, Terra Cotta Warriors: The Emperor’s Painted Army, National Geographic: Sacred Journeys, and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Secrets of the Sewer. Charity holds an MFA in drawing from Ball State and M.A. from IUPUI in Museum Studies.

P.O. Box 6267
Fishers, IN 46038-6267
Phone: 1-888-724-4266
Email: ccounts@midwestmuseums.org

 


Our Board of Directors

 

OFFICERS / EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

 

cmc-headshot-2

PRESIDENT 
Whitney Owens
Chief Learning Officer
Cincinnati Museum Center
1301 Western Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45203
Phone:  513.287.7073
Email: wowens@cincymuseum.org


bruce

VICE-PRESIDENT
Bruce Karstadt
President & CEO
American Swedish Institute
2600 Park Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55407
Phone:  612.870.3347
Email:  brucek@asimn.org


cheryl

TREASURER
Cheryl Darr
Chief Financial Officer
The Magic House
516 S. Kirkwood Road
St. Louis, MO  63122
Phone:  314.288.2511
Email: cheryl@magichouse.org


wright-lesley

SECRETARY
Lesley Wright
Director, Faulconer Gallery
Grinnell College
145 Bucksbaum Center for the Arts
1108 Park Street
Grinnell, IA 50112
Phone:  641.269.4642
Email:  wrightl@grinnell.edu


AT-LARGE BOARD MEMBERS

57bb94dd401cf-imageadams

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Melanie Adams
Senior Director, Guest Experiences and Educational Services
Minnesota Historical Society
345 W. Kellogg Blvd.
St. Paul, MN 55102
Email: Melanie.adams@mnhs.org


katzenmeyer

Charles Katzenmeyer
Vice President, Institutional Advancement
The Field Museum
1400 S. Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, IL  60605
Phone:  312.665.7132
Email: charles@fieldmuseum.org


dsc02255

Tony Lawson
Senior Director, School & Teacher Partnerships
Cincinnati Museums Center
1301 Western Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45203
Phone:  513.287.7000 x7201
Email: TLawson@cincymuseum.org


megan-stout-sibbel

Megan Stout Sibbel, Ph.D.
Curator and Historian
Salisbury House
2018 36th Street
Des Moines, IA  50310
Phone:  515.979.1228
Email: msibbel@salisburyhouse.org


katie2

Katie Van Allen
Managing Director of Museum Services
Missouri History Museum
Lindell and DeBaliviere in Forest Park
Phone: 314.361.7291 
Email: kva@mohistory.org


wittkoppnew

Gregory Wittkopp
Director of the Cranbrook Center for Collections and Research
Cranbrook Institute
P.O. Box 801
39221 Woodward Ave.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan 48303-0801
Phone: 248.645.3315
Email: gwittkopp@cranbrook.edu