Case Studies in Leadership


About the Series: Interested in history? Looking for inspiration? This new series of webinars will draw on the experiences of leaders of the past to inform leadership strategies and solutions for today. Listen to a story about leadership, and stick around for a conversation with colleagues!

Each session will be hosted in Zoom Meetings and feature a 15 to 20-minute presentation followed by moderated Q&A and discussion.

Registration Fees: $5 each for AMM members; $10 each for non-members

Registration fees support our host museums and the AMM annual fund.


General MacArthur: Strategic Priorities with a Shrinking Budget

Wednesday, March 3 at 12:30pm CST (1:30pm EST)

In the first session of the series, we will focus on defining strategic priorities during a financial crisis. Chris Kolakowski, director of the Wisconsin Veterans Museum in Madison, will share a story about General Douglas MacArthur, who headed the Army during the Great Depression. Under the pressure of budget cuts for four of the five years of his tenure, MacArthur set a vision and priorities that both met his immediate fiscal targets but did not hobble the Army of the future.


Advocacy from the Ground Up

Friday, May 14 at 9:00am CST (10:00am EST)

Listen as archivists from the Indiana Historical Society share a few lesser-known stories of leadership featuring Indiana women whose advocacy work made a difference for communities facing hardship as the result of discrimination, racism, and injustice. In Case Studies in Leadership: Advocacy from the Ground Up, learn more about Katherine “Flossie” Bailey, civil rights and anti-lynching activist; Carmen Velasquez, early pioneer of the Associated Migrant Opportunity Services, Inc. (AMOS); and Mary Byrne, who served as executive director of Indiana Youth Group and owned Labyris, a lesbian bar, and Out Word Bound, a gay and lesbian bookstore, in Indianapolis.